Jaime Shires NPC Fitness

How did you get interested in bodybuilding/working out?

Having suffered eating disorders and weight issues as a child, I did not want to live my life as an adult with the same problems. Therefore, by the age of 15 I was taking aerobic classes and lifting weights to find a balance in my life. From that point on, I was hooked. I fell in love with the fitness industry. I pursued teaching aerobics, spinning and personal training. From there, I wanted to further my career and I started competing in fitness competitions. The rest is history.

What was your first show like, any interesting experiences?

My very first show that I competed in was the ESPN2 series Fitness America Pageant in September of 1999. I remember being a nervous wreck. I was so nervous that while I was performing my fitness routine, I could not even hear my music. Good thing I practiced it a million in one times. I truly believe in muscle memory. Surprisingly enough, I won that show. Best experience of my life. That showed was aired on ESPN in March of 2000.

What do you like and dislike about competing?

The thing that I like about competing is the challenge of it. I enjoy that it is never easy and I enjoy always trying to improve myself. With each show, I try to improve not only on my physical appearance, but who I am as a person and on the inside. I feel that I get stronger inside and outside with each show that I do. It also can be a humbling experience, however. Competing is in my blood. Even though I have taken a year off to pursue my career as a firefighter, I cannot wait to step on stage again. There is really nothing that I dislike about competing, because if I disliked something, I probably would not do it.

What are your future goals in the industry?

Easy question! Yes, to obtain my pro card in fitness and compete in the Olympia some day.

What do you see yourself doing in 10 years?

I see myself pursing my career as a firefighter/paramedic, competing at the Professional level and hopefully, sharing my life with someone special. And of course, I want children. Ill take whatever God blesses me with, boy or girl or both.

Please tell us something special about you that most people wouldn't know?

I grew up in Christian home and I am Christ follower.

Additional Notes? People you would like to thank?

That is a long list. my parents, grandparents, friends, coaches and God.

Competition History:

-September 1999, ESPN2 Series FAP-1st
-November 1999 FAP Nationals-top 50 out of over 100 girls
-June 2000 FAP regionals-1st
-November 2002 NPC Florida Gold Cup-overall in fitness, 2nd in Figure
-April 2003 NPC Jr. USA- 5th in Fitness
-November 2003 NPC Nationals-12th

Jaime Shires

Date of Birth: March 16, 1979
Born in: Miami, FL,
Grew up in: Ft. Lauderdale, FL, currently reside in Davie, FL.
Marital Status: Single, but unavailable
Height: 5'2
Weight: 135 lbs
Current Occupation: EMT/Firefighter, personal trainer, spinning instructor, CPR instructor
Favorite Hobby: running
Favorite Music: Hip-hop, but I listen to everything
Best Bodypart: Personally I think that my smile is my best body part, but others had told me my asset is
Years Training: 10 yrs

Email: jaime@jaimeshires.com

Website: www.jaimeshires.com

© 2004 HardFitness Design All rights reserved.