Kaisa Piippo

How did you get interested in bodybuilding/working out?

Current occupation: Finishing up my masters degree studies and thesis A Finnish fitness competitor, Marjo Krishi, caugh my eye on Fitness magazine years ago. By that time I had no clue about training hard or eating right. In 2004 I got more interested in fitness as a competitive sport and I hired a personal trainer to help me out. Niina Aaltonen, who was my PT, had won the juniors fitness championships in Finland twice. She taught me how to work out and eat properly in order to get in shape for competition. Even though I have a different trainer now, Im still thankful to Niina for helping me to make my dreams come true!

How was your first show like, any interesting experiences?

My first competition was in April 2005. It was Boosman Fitness Classic and my category was body fitness novices. I loved every moment of it! Even though my conditioning was way off and I was too soft, I managed to place 9th in my class out of 17 competitors. Many people commented on my excellent stage presence and poise. Im sure I placed that well because of those two things and also the poses I had practised and my appearance which was finished with Competitive Edges beautiful suits! I learned that its very important to be in top shape, but the other little things matter a ton also. Next time I will be much better.

What do you like and dislike about competing?

I like most of the diet, especially I like having things in order. Im a very organized person so having clear plans what I need to do is important for me. I also love the energized feeling that I have when my nutrition is perfectly balanced and when the calories are still quite high. The energy rush that I get from working out is awesome! I dont really like saying no to so many things in the end of the competition diet: dinners with friends, late nights partying and so on. But you gotta make choices to reach your goals.

What are your future goals in this industry?

I want to see how far I can go just by eating right and eating enough calories and training as butt off in the gym. I want to make a switch to fitness next year so learning all the routine stuff is a huge challenge for me. I have no background for that but Im very determined to learn. Later it would be great to compete in international competitions, but time will tell how far I can go with the gifts and genetics that I have given.

What do you see yourself doing in 10 years?

I see myself working with things that are close to my heart. I hope I enjoy my work and have been able to motivate others in whatever goals they may want to reach. I hope I will be married to Joni, my boyfriend and maybe I will have children by then. Fitness will be a part of my life in some way, whether it is competing or something else.

Please tell us something special about you that most people wouldn't know?

Many people think they know me by the person I represent in the internet. I probably sound like a na've fitness fanatic whose whole life is fitness and nothing else. There's so much about me people don't know. Even though I'm a fun loving and an affectionate person, I'm also extremely stubborn and witty. I consider myself a quite philosophical person with lots of thoughts.

Any additional notes? People you would like to thank?

I would like to thank my boyfriend Joni for always being there for me. I dont know anyone else with such a warm heart and amazing personality. My life would be dull without him! I also want to thank my family for understanding this passion and for their support. Big thanks go to my trainer Jari Mentula and my sponsors BahiaNetstore.com, Elmomed and FuncFood Finland. My next competition is in September. Wish me luck, its a qualification for the Finnish Nationals!

Competition History:
-2006 Boosman Fitness Classic, body fitness novices 9th place

Kaisa Piippo

Date of Birth: June 2, 1982
Born/Grew up in: Kajaani, Finland
Current Residence: Tampere, Finland
Marital Status: In a relationship
Height: 5'6'
Weight: 140-143lbs off season
Current Occupation:
Favorite Hobby: Going to the gym, nordic walking (walking with poles), aerobics and dance, reading, making webpages and writing articles
Favorite Food: Oatmeal, leaf steak, cheesecake and chocolate!
Favorite Music: Trance, hard nrg, pop, alternative
Best Bodypart: Back
Years Training: Two years for competition

Email: faidra6@hotmail.com

Website: faidra.fitnessflow.org

© 2004 HardFitness Design All rights reserved.