Karen Patten IFBB Pro Fitness

How did you get interested in bodybuilding/working out?

I was going crazy being a full time stay at home mom and a dear friend dragged me into the gym. A local trainer suggested I do fitness and I havent looked back since.

What was your first show like, any interesting experiences?

It was just a ton of fun. I took the role of backstage comedian, as everyone was very stressed and uptight. I like to think I helped them relax, although I may have just been annoying!!

What do you like and dislike about competing?

I like performing, meeting others that share my passions and goals, and the feeling that comes with doing my best. I dislike being thirsty and having tan cream on everything.

What are your future goals in this industry?

I have just decided to do Nationals this year, and I would like to get my pro card. I feel there is not enough exposure about this sport, and I would like to educate other women and girls about the opportunities involved in body shaping and healthy lifestyles and teach others to be healthy and feel good about themselves.

What do you see yourself doing in 10 years?

I will still be involved in fitness and figure. Id like to work with young girls in a teaching role, something along the lines of healthy living, also working with competitors, teaching posing, training, choreography, etc.

Please tell us something special about you that most people wouldn't know?

I'm just an average, hard working mom, doing the best for my kids, trying to help them grow into happy, healthy people.

Any additional notes? People you would like to thank?

Id like to thank my husband, Lex for his patience and support. Also, my sponsors Allure Day Spa and Makar Eyecare.

Competition History:

-2004 Alaska State Fitness Champion
-2004 Lee Priest/Northern Lights Classic figure overall champion
-2004 Anchorage figure Tall and overall champion
-2005 Alaska State figure and fitness overall champion
-2005 Emerald Cup Fitness 2nd place, Figure 6th Place.

Karen Patten

Date of Birth: November 23, 1972
Born/Grew up in: Born in Wellington, New Zealand, grew up in Anchorage, Alaska
Current Residence: Anchorage, AK
Marital Status: Happily married with 3 beautiful daughters
Height: 53.5
Weight: 125
Current Occupation: CEO of Patten Household
Favorite Hobby: Biking
Favorite Food: Nothing particular comes to mind.
Favorite Music: Classic rock, you know, the stuff I grew up with!!
Best Bodypart: Legs, maybe abs??
Years Training: Weight training: 1 year

Email: karenpatten@gci.net

Website: www.karenpatten.com

© 2004 HardFitness Design All rights reserved.