Kendra Elias IFBB Fitness

How did you get interested in bodybuilding/working out?

Dancing has always been a part of my life. I began formal dance
training when I was two years old. Throughout grade school I studied dance and I began competitive dance in high school. After high school I taught dance for 5 years and continued to be involved with competitive dance as a coach. I currently dance professionally as a member of the Tulsa Talons AF2 Arena Football Cheer/Dance team.
After my competitive dance career was over, fitness competitions seemed like a great way to continue to perform and compete. My husband is a competitive bodybuilder and he helped me develop a training and nutrition plan to make the jump from dance competition to Fitness competition.

What was your first show like, any interesting experiences?

My first show was a little intimidating at first. I had never been
around so many bodybuilding competitors and I felt very small
backstage. I don't remember being very nervous. I went in with the attitude that my first show would be for experience and for fun.
Back stage I was rushing around making sure I was where I was supposed to be and ended up breaking the strap on one of my shoes. Carrie Ledford ( now an IFBB Pro Bodybuilder ) came to my rescue and helped me fix it right before I went on stage. Other than that, everything was great. I met a lot of new friends and definitely learned some helpful tips.

What do you like and dislike about competing?

I love being on stage and performing. I love to dance and Fitness has let me showcase my talents. There isn't anything that I don't like about competing, except maybe the dressing room accommodations. The girls aren't really separated from the guys.

What are your future goals in this industry?

Well, now that I'm a pro, I would love to compete in the Olympia.

What do you see yourself doing in 10 years?

In 10 years my husband and I hope to have children and to be living somewhere near the ocean. We'd love to build our dream house on the Gulf Coast one day. I'd also love to eventually own and operate my own dance school.

Please tell us something special about you that most people wouldn't know?

I'm crazy about bulldogs! I have two, Lily and her baby Daisy.

Any additional notes? People you would like to thank?

I want to thank Oklahoma Bodybuilders Carrie Ledford, Sherry Smith, and Tim Young for supporting me every step of the way. I also want to thank everyone at the Cheers To You Cheer/Gymnastics Gym in Tulsa for all their help with my gymnastics training. And of course, I want to thank my husband Michael for my nutrition and training programs, and everything else related to contest preparation. Without him, none of this would have happened. I love you!!

Competition History:

-2004 NPC Nationals - 2nd Short Class * Qualified for Pro Status
-2004 NPC Junior Nationals - 4th Short Class
-2004 NPC Oklahoma Championships - 1st Short Class and Overall
-2003 NPC Red River Classic - 2nd Short Class
-2003 NPC Oklahoma Championships - 2nd Short Class
-2002 NPC Red River Classic - 5th Short Class
-2002 NPC Oklahoma Championship - 2nd Short Class

Kendra Elias

Date of Birth: 9/13/77
Born/Grew up in: Sapulpa, Oklahoma
Current Residence: Tulsa, Oklahoma
Marital Status: Happily Married
Height: 5'1 1/4
Weight: 115 Off Season, 105 Contest
Current Occupation: Kindergarten Assistant, AFL Cheerleader, PeeWee
Gymnastics Coach
Favorite Hobby: Collecting bulldogs
Favorite Food: Shrimp
Favorite Music: I love a little bit of everything, from Rap to Country.
Best Bodypart: Back
Years Training: 25+ in Dance, 3+ in Fitness

Email: KendraElias@


© 2004 HardFitness Design All rights reserved.