Susan Groshek NPC Fitness

How did you get interested in bodybuilding/working out?

I have always been athletic; I started out in Gymnastics and dance and ran Track in High School. One of my friends who was a few years older then me came home from college and looked phenomenal. I asked her what she was doing and she told me she started training for Fitness competitions. I loved the fact that I could still compete in a sport after I was out of school and competitive gymnastics. I began training instantly and here I am today!!

How was your first show like, any interesting experiences?

My first show was a wonderful experience. I came in 1st place in Fitness and 2nd in Figure. I never knew the dedication it took to compete until I started training, but it was all worth it. Although it was very embarrassing because my music for my Fitness routine wouldn't play on their equipment and I didn't have a back up cassette. The group of Fitness competitors had to wait to do their routines until the night show so I could go home and tape it in-between the shows. I felt awful!

What do you like and dislike about competing?

I love the rush you get on stage, and meeting people who share the same passion for the sport! Competing has also allowed me to do more modeling and traveling, which I absolutely love to do. What I don't like is disappointing my friends and family when I have to train instead of spending time with them. Oh yeah did I mention I hate the cost! (Hint to any sponsors!!)

What are your future goals in this industry?

My goal is to get my Pro Card and climb the ladder to the top! I want to be a sponsored Fitness athlete and I would love to be in the Fitness industry full time as my career.

What do you see yourself doing in 10 years?

In 10 years I hope to be very successful in whatever career I'm in, be happily married, have the big house, nice car and have the "perfect family".

Please tell us something special about you that most people wouldn't know?

I broke both my elbows in gymnastics just one year apart, and I have pins holding my left one together. I also have a fear of drowning!

Any additional notes? People you would like to thank?

I would like to thank my friends and family for all their support. Especially to my boyfriend Rob who travels to every competition with me, puts up with my training schedule, and deals with my pre'contest mood swings! I love you Rob!! I would also like to thank my trainer Mike Davies, without him I wouldn't be where I am today!!

Competition History:
-NPC 2002 John Simmons Classic; Fitness 1st place, Figure 2nd
-NPC 2002 Central States; Fitness 1st place, Figure 2nd
-NPC 2003 Pittsburgh Championships Fitness 4th, Figure 5th
-NPC 2003 Team Universe; Fitness 6th, Figure 15th
-NPC 2004 Team Universe; Figure 6th place
-NPC 2005 Emerald Cup; Fitness 5th place, Figure 4th
-NPC 2005 Jr. Nationals; Fitness 3rd place, Figure 15th

Susan Groshek

Date of Birth: 9/21/1980
Born/Grew up in: Dearborn, MI
Current Residence: Dallas, TX
Marital Status: Single
Height: 5'3
Weight: 112lbs. Competition, 120-125 Off Season
Current Occupation: Pharmaceutical Sales Recruiter
Favorite Hobby: Working out
Favorite Food: Wheat Thins, Chiptole wraps, pizza
Favorite Music: Everything but country
Best Bodypart: Legs
Years Training: 3



© 2004 HardFitness Design All rights reserved.